Tropentag 2024:

Explore opportunities... for managing natural resources and a better life for all

September 11 - 13, 2024
organised by
University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna (BOKU), Austria

Photocontest 'lets-plant'

Simon Lotz This year the joint photo competition by Let's Plant e.V. (, and the Tropentag Conference celebrates its fifth anniversary! It's already for the fifth time we are organising the international photo competition on our core concern: to upgrade / improve degraded land in the sense of holistic landscape management. The call for proposals takes place in cooperation with the Tropentag 2024 conference.
The idea of the photo competition is to find pictures and photo reports on the topic that are as expressive as possible. In this way, interesting, promising and emotionally appealing approaches should be collected and made known.
As in the previous years, the two categories of the competition are:
  1. Best single picture
  2. Best photo story (max 10 photos)
An informative title and a small history and (scientific) background information should be provided for each submission. Submissions should be sent to A jury made up of members of Let’s Plant, the organisers of Tropentag 2024 and, if applicable, expert sponsors, will review the entries and prepare a ranking list. Depending on the number of entries, one, two or three winners will be selected and exhibited on the homepages of the Tropentag 2024 and of the Let's Plant e.V..

By submitting, the sender agrees to provide a non-exclusive right to the NGO Let's Plant e.V. to use the pictures and the accompanying texts for non-commercial purposes, in particular for exhibitions in print and online, always acknowledging and mentioning the sender/copyright holder. In cooperation with appropriate sponsors, Let's Plant offers to organise publicly accessible exhibitions of the best placed photos.

Deadline for the submission of your photos is August 31, 2024.

See some of the winner photos of past competitions here:

Abdullah Thaseem Muhammed Shah   Die-Yacine KA   Aung Zaw Oo.